Kathleen Mercado

“Lost in the forest, I broke off a dark twig
and lifted its whisper to my thirsty lips:
maybe it was the voice of the rain crying,
a cracked bell, or a torn heart.

Something from far off it seemed
deep and secret to me, hidden by the earth,
a shout muffled by huge autumns,
by the moist half-open darkness of the leaves…”
Pablo Neruda

KATHLEEN MERCADO

“I was born in Tyler, Texas, in 1967, and my interest in photography did not develop until rather late in life. In 2008, I began to shoot street photography. I was an habitual “people watcher.” I would continually study the faces of people I saw in the streets. I wondered about their stories; their lives. I always was drawn to people who seemed lonely, isolated….apart or different; this was something that I identified very strongly with, having felt that I was somehow “different“ from other people since I was a small child. One day, after I had bought a little point and shoot camera (I can’t even remember why), I was driving, and saw a lonely looking little woman sitting at a bus stop. For whatever reason, it occurred to me to make a picture of her; I took the photograph, and there began my inexhaustible love of street photography.As a child and young adult, I was a ballet dancer, and that art certainly influences my self-portraiture. I started making the self-portraits on a whim; it afforded me the opportunity to practice with my camera every day, when I could not get out into the streets to shoot.  But,  as I began to shoot more of them, I realized that they were giving me back something that I missed very dearly from my dancing days: the ability to express my inner emotions without language; to use my body as an instrument that plays the notes of the heart of a woman who is largely quiet and solitary. They are a record of me, for me. Photography is my voice.

Kathleen Mercado link: Flickr portfolioDSCF6314

3 pensieri su “Kathleen Mercado

  1. Wonderful to look through your images in this format, Kathleen. There is a wonderful silence that simply sings in your images. // Cheers, Nathan

Rispondi

