Lola Mitchell

Imagination is the beginning of creation. You imagine what you desire, you will what you imagine and at last you create what you will.
George Bernard Shaw

LOLA MITCHELL

“I was born in Paris, France in a very artistic family. My father was a photographer (mainly fashion and theater, Jorge Damonte), my mother was a contemporary dancer (Marcia Moretto) and my uncle was a playwright, actor and comic book author (Copi). I grew up in the theater while my uncle rehearsed or my father was there to photograph the rehearsals. He taught me how to use the darkroom when I was very young. I remember loving the smell of the chemicals and the magic of seeing the image appear. I lived in Los Angeles (and still do) and worked in documentary television. It was a job I enjoyed but I always felt that I wanted to make art. I know it sounds really vague but that is how it was. When I got pregnant I thought I would come back to work after my maternity leave was over. When the time came I realized it was important for me to be there for my son. My mother passed away when I was 6 years old and I do not remember her at all. I remember my baby sitters… Suddenly I was in a spot where fear of failure was no more part of my inner dialogue I had some time here and there and I used it to learn, it was my fun time. I do not think I will ever put the camera down again. Early on I realized that I loved photographing women. I am not saying I would never photograph men but for right now I am really inspired by women. I love every step of the process, planning, shooting, editing, printing and showing. The photographers that inspire me: Kylli Sparre, Jennifer B. Thoreson, Reylia Slaby, Zhang Jingna, Miss Aniela, Maggie Taylor, Brooke Shaden.

Lola Mitchell link: Flickr portfolioDSCF6314

Un pensiero su “Lola Mitchell

Rispondi

