Eleni Onasoglou

“We come from a dark abyss, we end in a dark abyss, and we call the luminous interval life”
Nikos Kazantzakis, The Saviours of God: Spiritual Exercises, 1923.

ELENI ONASOGLOU

“I was born in Syros, an island of Cyclades. The last few years I live in Athens, although I visit Syros and my family, who continue to live there, at the first opportunity. The work that I show is an attempt to maintain a kind of invisible connection with the personal memories of my life in the island. What I liked to do, as a child was to get dressed, style my hair, put on cosmetics and play different roles. This is why, subconsciously at the beginning, I engaged with fashion photography. In the process though, I realized that I am not interested in photographing within the limits imposed by commercial photography, but I prefer “playing” on my own terms and according to my own point of view, applying in photography this “habit” from my childhood of alternating roles. This is the reason why I choose models and I assign them different roles, in an effort of showing how I feel in the world and my attempt to create within it my own world.

Eleni Onasoglou link: Flickr portfolioDSCF6314

Un pensiero su “Eleni Onasoglou

Rispondi

