KATIE GRIESAR

“Brightest shine the inscriptions
to which we close our eyes
These we read in the dark
when we should sleep…”
-Tarjei Vesaas

 KATIE GRIESAR My last formal training in photography was in high school. And for so many years, though I barely picked up a camera, I somehow believed I was a photographer – a visceral sense that I had all these images inside me. Funny, not outside of me – as photography so often is a record of the external world. My interest in the practice was renewed with the gift of a small digital camera. My first project was maybe strangely, re-photographing my old darkroom prints from high school – a series I called “revisitations.” With this series I began to develop some evolving methods of manual manipulation and improvisation – with many of the original details diminished, the process allows for fragments of the images to emerge in unexpected ways. The practice translates my own experience of time and memory – dreamlike, elusive and fragmentary, the sense of apparition and fragility, the cycles of fading and emergence. I am learning that mistakes can be holy. From an uncertain reverie within these shadow hemispheres – isolated gestures, evidence of light, the presence of absence – fragments can emerge as inscriptions.

 

LINK : Katie Griesar

© Copyright
 All photographic images are copyright.
All rights reserved so if you’d like to use them in any way, please contact.

4 pensieri su “KATIE GRIESAR

Rispondi

